Skip to content
Home » 2023 Scott Cycles BMBC Championship

2023 Scott Cycles BMBC Championship

Sponsored by Lisa and Mick from Scott Cycles.

For more information about Scott Cycles click here.

Please note that in order to participate in the 2023 Scott Cycles BMBC Club Championship you must be a financial member of the BMBC and Auscycle in the RACE OFF ROAD category. This ensures that both individual members and the Club are covered by insurance taking away any issues of liability. To avoid disappointment, please make sure you sign up before the first event. For more information or to sign up, click here.


For race dates visit the BMBC Racing Calendar – click here.


Click on the links below to view the following documents for more information:

2023 Scott Cycles BMBC Club Championship Categories Explained

2023 Scott Cycles BMBC Club Championship Junior Race Categories Explained


The 2023 Scott Cycles BMBC Club Championship is built on the following principles:

Race courses provide opportunities for all members of the community to engage in the sport in an enjoyable manner. The courses are selected to cater for all type of riders, who are grouped in the following categories:

  1. Elite (Male & Female)
  2. eMTB Elite (Male & Female)
  3. Expert (Male & Female)
  4. Expert Junior (Male & Female)
  5. Sport (Male & Female)  
  6. eMTB Sport (Male & Female)
  7. Junior
  8. Whippets (Under 11 & Under 13)
  9. Intro (Male & Female)

Categories are differentiated by duration and in some events technical difficulty with Elite being the most demanding category.
Riders can only contest a single category within an event. Riders allocated points are not transferable between race categories.

Race courses provide opportunities for riders to develop their mountain bike riding skills by embedding the following lines into the primary courses:

  1. A-Line: trail section that requires sound technical skills and is to be ridden by confident / competent riders or by those who wish to push themselves to the next level.  A-lines are typically shorter than B-lines.
  2. B-Line: trail section that requires less technical skills than the A line and can be ridden by the majority of riders. B-lines are typically longer than A-lines.   
  3. E-Line: a mandatory trail section added to the primary course for those riding in the Expert, Elite categories.
  4. W-Line: a mandatory trail section added to the primary course for those riding in the Whippet category.

The sport and all associated social activities are environmentally sustainable. The Club is fully committed to the wise use of the natural environment.  

The Championship also offers opportunity to socialise, contribute to the community in a safe environment, make new friends, and put non-riding skills to the service of the community. 

– The 2023 Scott Cycles BMBC Club Championship will consist of 6 races and does not include the 2023 Giant Scott Cycles Karratha 6-Hour or any of the events market with ** in the BMBC Racing Calendar above. 
– Championship points will be calculated by totalling a rider’s 5 best results. 
– To qualify for the Championship, riders must ride at least 4 of the 6 scheduled races.
– Riders are allocated points based on their finish position at each event within the 2023 Scott Cycles BMBC Club Championship series as per the Cross Country Events Points Allocation table below.

The points are allocated as detailed in the table below:

For more information about the specific rules/conditions governing individual events refer to the Race Details Information Sheet circulated before each event.